Beginning August 2019, new Louisiana Child Safety Seat Laws for children up to 13 years of age will be enforced following the enactment of Louisiana Senate Bill 76.
Louisiana Child Safety Seat
- Children under the age of 2 – must be restrained in a rear-facing child safety seat.
- A child who is at least 2 years old and has outgrown the rear-facing seat will need to be restrained in a forward facing restraint system with an internal harness.
- A 4-year-old child who has outgrown the forward facing, internal harness system shall be restrained in a belt-positioning child booster seat.
- At nine years old children who have outgrown the booster seat may use the adult safety belt fastened correctly.
- Under 13 years old – Ride in the back seat of the car, if rear seats are available.
- A child who can be placed in more than one category shall use the more protective one.
This bill passed the Senate on April 23, 2019, with 34 Yes votes, zero, no votes and 5 abstained.
The bill passed the House on May 23, 2019, with 81 yes votes, zero no votes, and 24 abstained.
Baton Rouge Family Fun
Latest posts by Baton Rouge Family Fun (see all)
- BASIS Baton Rouge Primary – Mid City – Information Session - February 15, 2021
- Zooper Birthday Parties – BREC’s Baton Rouge Zoo - February 5, 2021
- Floats in the Oaks – Drive-thru Carnival attraction in City Park - January 29, 2021